The 10 women who have presided over the jury at Cannes

The Cannes Film Festival is one of the major events calendar film releases. Welcomes the French coast from 1946 to film professionals with different proposals, backgrounds and styles, relying on diversity and rupturismo. But in the 66 editions that took place, only 10 women have been elected to chair the main jury charged with choosing the Palme d’Or and other awards for acting, directing and script. French actress Jeanne Moreau is the only one who has been twice: 1975 and 1995.

Regarding the winning, it was not until 1993 when Jane Campion won the Palme d’Or for ‘The Piano’, becoming the first woman to receive it. The prize was shared with ‘Farewell My Concubine’, Chen Kaige.

Jane Campion (Wellington, New Zealand, April 30, 1954), first woman who won the Palme d’Or at Cannes, was president of the jury of the 67th edition in 2014. In addition to ‘The Piano’, Campion has directed ‘Orlando’ , film based on the novel by Virginia Woolf, or ‘Bright Star’, on the relationship between the poet John Keats and Fanny Brawne;. More »

The first woman who presided over the jury of the Cannes Film Festival was the actress Olivia de Havilland (Tokyo, 1916), star of classics like “The Heiress” (1949) or ‘Gone with the Wind’ (1939).

De Havilland resided since the 50s in Paris, France, and was first invited to Cannes in 1953, where she met her second husband, journalist Pierre Galante. In 1965, he returned as the first woman president of the Jury of the Official Section, which recognize the work of Richard Lester, William Wyler (who directed her in ‘The Heiress’) and Sydney Lumet, among others. More »

Sofia Villani Scicolone (Sophia Loren, Rome, 1934) was the Cannes jury in 1966, which were awarded ‘Alfie’ Lewis Gilbert and ‘Chimes at Medioanoche’ Orson Welles. Best Actress of the 19th edition was the British Vanessa Redgrave.

Loren was already a myth in Italy and in the rest of the world. Two years earlier, he had starred with Marcello Mastroniani, ‘Marriage Italian Style’ (Vittorio de Sica). And in 1960, it convirtía in the second Italian woman (his predecessor was Anna Magnani) won the Academy Award for Best Actress for drama ‘Two Women’ Vittorio de Sica;. More »

Simone Renée Roussel (Michèle Morgan, 1920, Neuilly-sur-Seine) was the first of the six French presidents of the jury in Cannes. It represents a generation of previous interpreters Nouvelle Vague movement. Morgan starred in films like ‘Love Manoeuvres’ (René Clair) and played French historical heroines, as Josephine Bonaparte, Marie Antoinette and Joan of Arc.

In 1946, the first edition of the Cannes Film Festival, won the award for Best Actress for ‘La Symphonie pastorale’ (Jean Delannoy). 25 years later he helped two groundbreaking works were recognized. ‘Johnny Got His Gun’, Dalton Trumbo, and ‘Joe Hill’, the Swedish Bo Viderberg; More »

Swedish actress Ingrid Bergman (1915-1982) has gone down in history thanks to his roles in ‘Casablanca’ (1942, Michael Curtiz), ‘Notorious’ (1946, Alfred Hitchcock) or ‘Stromboli’ (1950, Roberto Rossellini). She was president of the Jury at Cannes in 1973, year in which was chosen to competition ‘Film d’amore e d’anarchia’ by Italian director Lina Wertmüller, and won the Grand Jury Prize ‘invitation’ by Claude Goretta and ‘Sanatorium Pod Klepsydra’, Polish Wojciech J. Has.

Ingrid Bergman is the only actress alongside Meryl Streep, who has won three Oscars for interpretation, surpassed only by Katharine Hepburn. In 2015, Cannes has honoree making festival poster image;. More »

French actress Jeanne Moreau (Paris, 1928) was the only one who has chaired twice in Cannes, in the editions of 1975 and 1995. The star of “Elevator to the Gallows ‘(Louis Malle) and’ Jules et Jim ‘(Françoise Truffot) was awarded best actress at this event in 1960 for the film’ Moderato cantabile ‘by Peter Brook.

As president of the 28th edition, he contributed to acknowledge the work of Walter Herzog, Costa-Gavras and the Algerian Mohammed Lakhdar-Hamina.

In 1995, twenty years later, the awardees were ‘Underground’ by Emir Kusturica; To Vlema tou Odyssea ‘by Theo Angelopoulos; La Haine’ by Matthieu Kassovitz and ‘Carrington’ by Christopher Hampton, biography of the British painter Dora Carrington.

Moureau in 2003 won a Palme d’Or at Cannes honorific;. More »

1979 will be remembered at the Cannes Film Festival Palme d’Or for ‘ex-aequo’ two masterpieces film, ‘Apocalypse Now’, Francis Coppola, and ‘The Tin Drum’, Volker Schlöndorff. The president of the jury of this edition was the French writer and filmmaker Françoise Sagan (1935-2004), author of the novel “Bonjour Tristesse ‘.

Sagan personified the highest aesthetic principles and philosophy of the Nouvelle Vague, a mix of hedonism and existentialism she moved to his life and creative projects. More »

French actress Isabelle Adjani (Paris, 1955) won the award for Best Actress at Cannes in 1981 for ‘Quartet’ and ‘possession’. It is one of the most emblematic interpreters of French and American cinema of the 80s and 90s, thanks to roles as “Camille Claudel” (Bruno Nuytten, 1988) or ‘Queen Margot’ (Patrice Chereau, 1994).

She was president of the 50th Cannes Film Festival, which were awarded directors Atom Egoyan, Wong Kar Wai and Abbas Kiarostami;. More »

Norwegian Liv Ullmann (Tokyo, 1938) worked closely with the Swedish director Ingmar Bergman, with whom he made ten films, including ‘Person’ (1966), ‘Autumn Sonata’ (1978) or ‘Saraband’ (2003). He has directed seven films, including ‘Private Confessions’ (1996) and ‘Unfaithful’ (2000), both written by Bergman.

He was a member of the Cannes jury in 1978 and chaired it in 2001, the year in which the tapes were awarded ‘The Pianist’ (Michael Haneke) and ‘The Son’s Room’ (Nanni Moretti) .; More »

France’s Isabelle Huppert (Paris, 1953) was president of the jury in 2009, when Michael Haneke won the Palme d’Or with ‘The White Ribbon’ and the Grand Prize went to “The Prophet” by Jacques Audiard. A major issue for women’s cinema as the directors Isabel Coixet and Andrea Arnold attended the winners.

Huppert’s career has paralleled the filmmaker Claude Chabrol, who saw in her the perfect protagonist of his chronicles of the French bourgeoisie. Huppert has twice won the award for Best Actress at Cannes for ‘Prostitute day, Miss Evening’ (Claude Chabrol, 1978) and ‘The Piano Teacher’, based on the novel by Elfriede Jelinek;. More »